Aspergers on expanding horizons

Posted: August 11, 2012 in aspergers, comedy, life, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

As I mentioned in my previous post “My Secret Obsession” people with Aspergers tend to have a narrow area of focus, or comfort zone. It is equally true when it comes to food. For a long time I wouldn’t eat anything that was from the sea. I still am iffy about eating calamari when they have faces, and won’t touch anchovies. One particular area of sea animals I avoid is fish. Until recently like the last six months I wouldn’t eat any fish but then I started eating fried Halibut when it was breaded and soaked in beer batter. However, over the last few days I ate Halibut on its own which is much healthier.

Halibut with a Lemon Dill Caper Sauce on Fettuccine

My problem with seafood has been more with the texture than the actual taste. However, I feel like if you try something enough times you grow accustomed to it and can start eating it like with avocado. Therefore, my next project is to start eating salmon as I am already taking Salmon oil vitamins and salmon is supposed to be really healthy for you.  However, my favourite cusine still is pretty mainstream Italian Lasagna (meat and veggy), Chinese-American sweet and sour chicken balls, and American hamburgers. I also tend to drink only pale beers such as the St James Pale Ale and Keiths. Therefore, I will at some point probably write a post about the different types of beers out there and how I expanded my beer palette.

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Do you do your own cooking?

Leave a Reply

