Aspergers on an early diagnosis

Posted: December 16, 2012 in advocacy, aspergers, life
Tags: , , ,

Growing up I thought that an early diagnosis of Aspergers was a bad thing. That once I had a label that it would define who I was, or, that my Aspergers was so obvious that it was easy to diagnose. Either of these outcomes would be horrible. However, the diagnosis does not define the person, the person defines the person the disability just helps steer the direction that life will take. In addition, I have found that my Aspergers is quite mild compared to many other people. Mild even compared to people who were not diagnosed well into adulthood.
Instead, they had a lifetime of being misunderstood and of being misdiagnosed and treated for symptoms such as the physical tics (which I never had) or the outcomes of being misunderstood such as depression. Therefore, they were are given the wrong treatment and had a life made harder for them. They are considered rude and deviants and are treated badly, by their peers and even their families. Which is a huge shock for me the terrible upbringing some people have, because while I have had my differences with my family, they have always had my best interests at heart. Other people with Aspergers, who have not been diagnosed are considered mentally ill and unstable. No one understood them and they have had difficult, difficult lives.
Having read Rudy Simone’s books Aspergirls, and Aspergers On the Job, in which she spent countless stories conducting interviews for and getting stories about people who were only diagnosed with Aspergers in their adulthood, I am truly grateful that I was able to get a diagnosis early on.

Comments
  1. Life&Ink says:

    I agree. I am glad we were able to get my son diagnosed in 1995 at the age of 4. As I have always said, “Aspergers is an explanation, not an excuse.”

Leave a Reply

