apparently the world doesn’t owe me anything

Posted: January 27, 2013 in aspergers, entertainment, life
Tags: , ,

So I was talking to this girl on eharmony, for awhile and we finally arranged a meeting date at Rumors comedy club. Hold on, that’s not a way to start a story. Let’s try that again.
Once on a mildly chilly night in late January, I had arranged a date with a girl who I assumed could be my soulmate. We had talked a few times online and there seemed to be a deep powerful connection there. As if we had been soulmates in another life. (Now that is a way to start a story!!) Due to the craziness of my busy schedule after arranging the date I had forgot to book in advance (forgot, phew more like didn’t even think about it.) Therefore, I was waiting in the dank entrance to the basement that is the hallway to Rumors, hoping to get in or at least hoping we would be able to get coffee. I had spent a whole, 15 minutes prior getting ready for this exciting moment. However, I ended up waiting for naught as she never showed.
I was okay with it I figured the night is still young and I am looking hot, having had my sister-in-law come over and help me pick out my outfit and gell my hair like a pro. I figured, the world owes me a little excitement after I put in all this hard work and had this minor-setback. If only a drunken make-out session with a girl. Her drunk, as I still needed to drive home after all. So I headed, over to my buddy’s house where we set the mood for excitement by playing a little Megaman 9. After a two-hour struggle, I finally beat one of the bosses which seemed to suggest that it was a good omen for the evening ahead. After this victory we headed to a social. The tickets were 20 dollars but I figured small price to pay for the adventure ahead. After meeting up with some more buddies, I figured now the fun will begin. Then we watched the auctioneers announce the winner.
Getting antsy at this point, I was like I will settle for anything a phone number, a cute girl flirting with me, anything. After all universe you owe me.
Final synopsis, nothing, and I mean nothing came of this party where it seemed like every girl there in the right age range, had a boyfriend or a husband. Turns out, the universe does not care or feel that it owes me anything. The world does not always close a door to open up a window and not everything happens for a reason. Sometimes bad things don’t come along so an even greater thing can happen.

Comments
  1. Grndma Chris says:

    Who was this idiot from eharmony? I want her address, after I’m done going all grandma on her, she will wish she had never stood you up….how immature….but then again, you’re probably lucky because she obviously has more issues and drama than you need.
    Trust me, the moment you stop looking for your soulmate, that is the second you will find each other..until then…enjoy life and all it can offer you.

    • mrasperger says:

      It is possible she didn’t stand me up, but got there found out that it was sold out and left immediately and this happened before I got there. I don’t have all the answers. I appreciate you having my back though!!! (hugs))

  2. Linda says:

    You know, I know how frustrating and disheartening it is when you are looking for a relationship and it isn’t happening. I don’t know anyone who had not gone through it over and over again. And it sucks ass! But keep getting out there, keep working at it and sooner or later it will happen. I know it doesn’t seem like it but it will.
    xo

  3. Joanne says:

    Lucky you found out she’s flaky now rather than after you’ve invested some time.

Leave a Reply

