What I learnt from the fringe Festival

Posted: August 6, 2013 in aspergers, comedy
Tags: , , ,

The majority of the audience are 40 plus.
Therefore, keep the jokes relateable to this age range. Talking about things such as Mortal Kombat, Pogs or Boardwalk Empire may not go over with this audience so well as when doing stand-up comedy in a bar with young people. Young people will understand the references because they were there as well. Also, keep the material clean as older people do not gratuitous dirty jokes. Which is okay, because my jokes are generally clean most of the time regarldess who I am performing for.

One good rating can make your show extremely successfu.
My review from CBC was medicore and it while it can still be argued that I could still have had a successful fringe without a great review, getting 5 stars from the Winnipeg Free Press, allowed me to relax and enjoy the festival more. People do not take a balance of the two scores and go based on the average, instead a great review will run wild and drum up business better than one could possibly believe. Other groups had to work much harder, handbilling and promoting their show than I had to simply because I got lucky. There is both skill and luck in being lucky as I am not going to say I didn’t deserve the good score but the score from CBC shows that not everyone thought as highly of my show.

While Fringe festival can be lucrative, it may not necessarily help your social calendar.
This one is pretty self explainatory. There is no arguing that my fringe festival was a success and yet, after it was all said and done no girls flirted with me because I was a star of the fringe-festival and I still felt as uncomfortable talking to people my own age as ever.

Not every show is going to be equally strong, but that doesn’t mean you should beat yourself up over it.

Do not rush yourself, it only makes it that much harder to get back on course if you start off badly because of rushed lines.

If you say your show is going to be 45 minutes if you go under 35 critics will not like it.

Comments
  1. katydid83 says:

    Adam, your show was great. Really informative and funny. Don’t judge your success based on whether or not some chicks flirted with you-did you enjoy yourself? Were you true to you and proud of what you did? Confidence, my friend, is the sexiest quality anyone can have.

    (Although I know for a fact you got at least one phone number!)

  2. timmyelliot says:

    Great blog! Mortal Kombat came out like 22 years ago, so I’m thinking a lot of people in their 40s would be pretty familiar with the game… so it might be safe to joke about, given your demographics. But I’m not a performer, so I wouldn’t know.

Leave a Reply

