driving

Posted: September 15, 2013 in life
Tags: , ,

I hate driving because of sensory overload. You are constantly having to check your mirrors, the street names as well as your speed. I mean if you don’t constantly check your mirrors you will get in a car accident and that nasty crunching sound of metal still makes me cringe, even though I haven’t been in any car accidents lately (Thank God! fingers crossed, hope this doesn’t jinx me). If you don’t constantly check the street names while bearing in mind the future streets coming up as well as the streets that you have already gone past and if that’s not enough you also have to keep in mind the destination. Remembering all of that is enough to give me a headache and if for a second you let off on this you’ll get completely lost. This isn’t as big of a problem for most people but as a result of my aspergers and trouble focusing on fine details I am constantly getting lost. In addition, since I have a hard time gettting organized I have the hardest time remembering what street comes next and have to consciously think about unless its an area I have already been to a million times.

Finally there is the speed. If you drive too slowly it will take forever getting anywhere and yet every single time I see a parked car at the side of the road I am instantly distracted by worrying about what speed I’m going even though I am just going the speed limit and looking into the other car to see if there is a camera which is really distracting and can make me feel like I am about to get into an accident. Therefore, I prefer to take the bus around but there are some places its -if not impossible to get to by bus- lets say very very difficult and time consuming and then there is the fear that I am going to be too late or early which is something that I have touched on in another blog about how this gives me anxiety issues.

Comments
  1. Athens says:

    Hello, I’ve been following you and I’ve been wanting to ask this question for quite a while. How old we’re you when you were diagnose under the spectrum and how old we’re you when it was identified as Aspergers.

  2. kruus@mymts.net says:

    Try a GPS. It’s very helpful, not too expensive, and you’ll get to where you want to go. Date: Sun, 15 Sep 2013 18:19:16 +0000 To: kruus@mymts.net

    • mrasperger says:

      The problem with a gps is that it is one more thing to pay attention to. Either your looking at the GPS instead of the road or and if you have the sound on that is just one more thing competing for your attention.

      • Kyllikki Anne says:

        A GPS does take getting used to for sure, like anything. But it can also give you a reassurance that you are going the correct way. If you miss an exit, you just turn around and it will guide you by correcting the route, especially when it’s difficult to see the street signs…. Otherwise it’s old school, and memorize the route beforehand from a paper map and keep that in your head. 🙂 (?)

Leave a Reply

