Why disabled beauty is not an oxymoron

Posted: June 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

Beautiful post.

mylittlecrippledheart

There was a summer afternoon a few years ago that I’ll never forget. My best friend  – who also uses a wheelchair – and I were in a coffee shop when a woman came up to us and nonchalantly gave us what she most likely thought was the compliment of our lives (it wasn’t). What she said was this: “You girls are so pretty. It’s a shame you’re disabled.”

Even as I write those words, something deep in my gut clenches. It’s not just that I know she was trying to be nice, but ended up unwittingly insulting both my friend and I despite her good intentions. It’s not even that she said what she did, and then went on her merry way, not even engaging either of us in conversation – she just said what she said, and that was it.

It’s that she had an image of a…

View original post 490 more words

Leave a Reply

